Updated Standings, Most Runs, Most Wickets After NZ vs PAK Match 35 & ENG vs AUS Match 36

The ICC World Cup 2023 saw two matches being played on Saturday. NZ vs PAK took place at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore and ENG vs AUS was played at the biggest Stadium in the world, Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Two exciting encounters were on the fray and it was a perfect Saturday for fans. 

In the NZ vs PAK game, Pakistan emerged victorious by 21 runs due to the DLS method. The M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore witnessed a festival of runs. Asked to bat first, New Zealand posted a gigantic total of 401 runs on the board and it seemed that it was enough. 

Rachin Ravindra (108) and Kane Williamson (95) batted magnificently well and set the platform for the big score. A valiant contribution from Daryl Mitchell (29), Mark Chapman (39), Glenn Phillips (41), and Mitchell Santner (26*) took New Zealand to a big total. 

Pakistan lost Abdullah Shafique (4) early on. But after that, Fakhar Zaman (126*) took the bowlers to the cleaners and smashed them all over the park. He played a brutal knock and kept the team ahead of the DLS score with rain around the corner. Skipper Babar Azam (66*) also contributed before rain called off the play. The Men in Green were crowned winners by 21 runs. 

In the second game, Australia thumped England by 33 runs and eliminated the defending champions from the tournament. They bowled magnificently well and strengthened their position to qualify for the semi-finals of the ICC World Cup 2023. 

Australia lost Travis Head (11) and David Warner (15) early but after that, Steve Smith (44) and Marnus Labuschagne (71) led the rescue charge. They played a vital hand for the team that ensured they didn’t lose wickets in clusters upfront. However, they lost their wickets at crucial junctures of the game. 

Cameron Green (47) along with Marcus Stoinis (35) made sure that Australia ended on high. Adam Zampa (29) struck some lusty blows in the end as Australia ended with a total of 286 runs. For England, Chris Woakes was the pick of the bowlers as he bagged four wickets.

England had a torrid outing with the bat as they lost Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root (13) early. Dawid Malan (50) and Ben Stokes (64) kept them in the hunt with their half-centuries but couldn’t continue. Moeen Ali (42) also had a start but a similar story happened again. 

Australia bundled out England for just 253 runs and won the game by 33 runs. Adam Zampa picked three wickets for 21 runs whereas the pace trio of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Pat Cummins picked two wickets each. 

Updated ICC World Cup Points Table 2023 After NZ vs PAK Match 35 & ENG vs AUS Match 36 

1 India 7 7 0 0 0 +2.102 14
2 South Africa 7 6 1 0 0 +2.290 12
3 Australia 7 5 2 0 0 +0.924 10
4 New Zealand 8 4 4 0 0 +0.398 8
5 Pakistan 8 4 4 0 0 +0.036 8
6 Afghanistan 7 4 3 0 0 -0.330 8
7 Sri Lanka 7 2 5 0 0 -1.162 4
8 Netherlands 7 2 5 0 0 -1.398 4
9 Bangladesh 7 1 6 0 0 -1.446 2
10 England 7 1 6 0 0 -1.504 2

After NZ vs PAK Match 35 & ENG vs AUS Match 36, Australia climbed to the No.3 spot whereas New Zealand were displaced to 4. Pakistan after the win are now placed at No.5 whereas England are reeling at the bottom. India continued staying at the top followed by South Africa. 

Highest Run-getter In World Cup 2023 After NZ vs PAK Match 35 & ENG vs AUS Match 36 

Pos Player Team Runs Innings Bat Avg
1 QUINTON DE KOCK SA 545 7 77.85
2 Rachin Ravindra NZ 523 8 74.71
3 Virat Kohli IND 442 7 88.40
4 David Warner AUS 428 7 61.14
5 Rohit Sharma IND 402 7 57.42

Rachin Ravindra after his magnificent ton in NZ vs PAK surpassed Virat Kohli and is now the new No.2 in the list of leading run-getters. David Warner climbed to 4th spot. Quinton de Kock is at the top with Kohli and Rohit Sharma at 3rd and 5th respectively. 

Highest Wicket-taker In World Cup 2023 After NZ vs PAK Match 35 & ENG vs AUS Match 36

Pos Player Team Wickets Innings
2 Dilshan Madushanka SL 18 7
3 Shaheen Shah Afridi PAK 16 8
4 Marco Jansen SA 16 7

Adam Zampa after his three-wicket haul in ENG vs AUS is the new leading wicket-taker in the tournament. Dilshan Madushanka was dropped to No.2 followed by Shaheen Afridi, Marco Jansen and Jasprit Bumrah.

Source link